Award of Distinction Honorees

The Award of Distinction is presented as a special recognition to a male or female who has distinguished him/herself with any or all of the following: unique professional contributions, extraordinary service or professional accomplishments, and/or personal courage. This is an opportunity to honor and recognize a male or female who has served as an inspiration to others while providing unique contributions under special circumstances which he/she has conducted his/her professional work or career.

2019: Julie Foudy and Dr. Colleen Hacker on behalf of the 1999 U.S. Women's National Team

2018: Diana Nyad, Author, Journalist, Motivational Speaker, and long-distance swimmer

2017: Dr. Bernard Franklin, NCAA, Chief Inclusion Officer & Executive Vice President of Education & Community Engagement 

2016: Claire McCaskill, United States Senator of Missouri

2012: Pat Summitt, Head Women's Basketball Coach, University of Tennessee

2010: Diane Milutinovich, Associate Athletic Director Emeritus, Fresno State University

2009: Kay Yow, Head Women’s Basketball Coach, North Carolina State University (posthumously)

2008: Brenda Weare, Commissioner, Northeast Conference